The most commonly asked questions regarding the use of the chat have been answered below. However, if you have more questions then feel free to use the contact form to ask them.

How do I change or create a room ?

You can change or create a new room by typing a room name into the first input field at the top left of the screen. If the activity lists are not visible then you will have to click on the green icon in the very top left corner of the page.

Shortcut method: Simply type room=RoomName into the chat.

How do I change my user name ?

You can change or create a new room by typing a room name into the second input field at the top left of the screen. If the activity lists are not visible then you will have to click on the green icon in the very top left corner of the page.

Shortcut method: Simply type name=NewName into the chat.

How do I ignore/manage/message another user ?

You can click on the user's name in the user list or on their chat post within the chat itself to bring up the user's menu. The menu has several options:

  • Private Message
  • Private Chat
  • Friend / Unfriend User
  • Disable / Enable User
  • Ignore / Unignore User
  • xxxx History

And if clicking a post within the chat

  • Delete Post

These options are generally self-explanatory, but let's briefly list their function for clarity.

  • Private Messages (PMs) are sent only to the user(s) you are PMing and unlike a 'Private Chat' they are posts that display in the current room of the person you are PMing.
  • The 'Private Chat' option sends the user a PM, but along with it is a link to a private room and when sent will open that room automatically as a new tab within your chat page. Should the PMed user click your private chat link, you will then both be in the same private room/tab together. Private rooms (all rooms starting with 'pvt') will have a shorter post life and a smaller post count when loading the room's post history, this is to increase privacy in the unlikely event of two different private chat requests generating the same room link.
  • The 'Friend User' option will push the user(s) to the top of the user list and tag them with the green light icon.
  • The 'Disable User' option will tag users with the orange light icon in the user list, disable their HTML (should Format be set to on - see more below). It will also turn their images into links (assuming you have images on) and set their font to small. Finally disabled users are marked with an asterix character next to their name.
  • The 'Ignore User' option will remove all of their past and future posts from the chat, mark them on the user list with a red light icon and push their name to the bottom of the user list.
  • 'xxxx History' (where 'xxxx' represents the user's ID) will allow you to view the post history in a new side window of all/any user(s) associated with that ID.
  • 'Delete Post' will remove that spefific post from the chat. Note that if the post you are removing is your own then it will also remove it from the server (post history - see above) and all other users in that room.